Fort George overlooking Port of Spain is 350 metres about sea level. It was built in 1804 during the term of the British Governor, Sir Thomas Hislop. It providedprotection for Port of Spain in the event of an invasion by receiving light and flag signals from various points. This signal station was built about 1833 by Ashantee Prince Kofi Nti. Only when the wireless system arrived did the station become obsolete. For the visitor the fort provides one of the imposing views to the capital city and its cannons which were never used add to its attractions.
This area made up of villages of Siree, La Pastora, and Lopinot, is about 16 Kilometres from Port of Spain and about 8 miles from Piarco International Airport. In 1806 it was settled by the Compte de Lopinot Charles Joseph and his band of slaves after they fled the French Revolution and Slave Revolt in Santo Domingo. He soon found a beautiful plain which he named "La Reconnaisance" and occupied some 478 acres of this land. His mansion stood there along with a jail house, slaves' barrack houses, stables and cocoa houses. The Count, his wife and his dog were all buried in two graves in the nearby cemetery close to the banks of the Lopinot river which can still be veiwed today. In the 1940's when the Government decided to build the Caura Dam, the villagers from the old Spanish settlement of Caura found themselves being displaced and they went to the valley of Lopinot.
Lopinot, as it is now called, reflects the rich and diverse cultural heritage of the twin islands. Its people are of mixed Spanish, Amerindian and Indian Origin. It is one of the few places where Spanish is so commonly spoken together with French "patois". This village is the home of "parang" and this, together with its caves and famous legend, draw many visitors throughout the year.
Fort King George
This fort boasts a spectacular view of Scarborough. A scene of prolonged battle, it was built by the British in 1777, later occupied by the French who occupied it from 1781 until 1793 and called it Fort Castries. It was later recaptured by the British and then the French and this continued for some time. The picturesque buildings and ruins include the Officer's Mess, the Lighthouse, and the Bell Tower.